Working in the industry

I am a 27 years old young woman who is currently living in Geneva, one of the richest cities in the world. I graduated in 2010 and started to look for a job. I wanted to find the perfect one, something meaningful and intellectually rewarding, a job that was not only a job but also where I could change things. Almost a year passed and I was still on a deck chair at my parents’ house. They told me I should get a job, any job, and as was explained by all carrier counselors, that the perfect job would not be the first one but rather the fruit of a construction that would lead to finally do something you really like, but you should find a way to learn things that will be useful later for your dreamed job. Then I found this offer for an analyst in innovation, and although the range of the products this company was selling didn’t fit with what I was most interested in, I liked the idea of being at the center of the innovation process and thought I could learn a lot. So I applied, had a phone interview, then a “real” interview, and got the job!

I must admit that these thirteen months were some of the best of my life. I met other graduates that soon became good friends, moved in my own awesome flat, started to go out a lot, met an incredible number of new people – who said that once you start working, it becomes really difficult to make new connections? – and professionally learned a lot. Among other things, I learned how to:

  • convey a message in an efficient, straight-to-the-point way (thank you Rok, I will never forget you)
  • speak in front of an audience
  • organize a project
  • deal with hierarchy (I probably need more training on that topic)
  • deal with different types of bosses
  • try to survive to endless meetings

And probably many other things that are not all related to the day-to-day job in itself. What I also learned is that although you come in a company with the idea that you won’t stay there, that it’s just a step in your carrier and you’re not interested in climbing the ladder, you can soon be caught up in the game. I have seen people craving for a promotion, for more responsibility that will only give them less time with their family, more stress, more phone ringing day and night. And for what?

Leave a Reply

