Visit of the city – Shabbat

It’s cold today, there are clouds and wind so the temperature is not higher than 25°C. Better take a vest when you go out…

I don’t find the city really beautifull to be honnest. There are big roads, old neighbourhoods, and the old city I more old than antic and the fact that absolutely every thing is closed probably doesn’t help. Although I must say it’s relatively clean and there are a lot of really nice parks. And the campus is beautiful even from outside (you need students ID cards to be allowed to pass the security check point and go inside). We’ll see on another day if the rest of the city looks better.

IMG_0777

View of the university from afar

IMG_0778

The road leading to the old city, with a piece of a nice park on the right

IMG_0779

The fancy new buildings. Unfortunately I don’t have picture of the old ugly one to compare

IMG_0781

In the Old City, the Negev Museum of Art in the former Ottoman governor’s house and former mosque.

IMG_0785

Same mosque from the other side

IMG_0782

A replica of a water-wheel well. I couldn’t find the “Be’er Avraham” or Abraham’s Well. Next time!

IMG_0783

When I say everything is closed I’m not kidding. Geneva on Sunday seems to be a lively city compared to that.

IMG_0784

Be’ersheva River.
I promise, look! There is water! The bed is big so I don’t know if it’s full sometime, but for now it looks more like a cute little stream.

This last photo requires a few explanation. I had seen those along the beach in Tel Aviv but didn’t think there were present in the whole country until yesterday evening, I saw through the taxi window, a bunch of people moving weirdly until I saw the exercise machines you can see below. Apparently they are more popular when it’s dark because all of them were used then.

IMG_0780

One thought on “Visit of the city – Shabbat

Leave a Reply

