Dust Storm

Three days ago, I woke up to an orange sky :

IMG_6272

And it hasn’t changed much since then.

IMG_6218

Last Week

IMG_6281

Yesterday

The reason is a gigantic cloud of dust hovering the whole country.

IMG_6271
It feels like winter but a terribly hot one. There isn’t any air and that’s the reason why the cloud is going nowhere. It’s not really possible to predict when it will go away but it seems that we will have a very gray Rosh HaShanah (the Jewish new year).

I read today that last night, the minimum temperature at night recorded in Sodome on the bank of th Dead Sea, was 36.5 degrees Celsius! Did I tell you that it’s hot in here?

Beside the potential effects on our health, I (and others as well) am starting to experience an other kind of side effect. I started feeling some kind of claustrophobia, with a bit of anxiety when I look at the clotted sky.

IMG_6295I want to run, escape, but there is nowhere to go and I am stuck inside. Even my breath is getting a bit short but it’s probably more psychological than physiological. I am longing for a good summer storm like there are in Europe to wash the sky and cool down the atmosphere at the end of a long day.

IMG_6282

Leave a Reply

